Its been ages since I wrote here (more of a diary kinda person) or that I blogged. Sometimes I feel what should I write or blog about. Everything is out there, everything has been expressed, abused, marketed, sold.. what even is left for me to tell. Social media has taken  over our lives to such an extent that sometimes even I’m trapped inside of it. I then distance myself but eventually find myself crawling back into it. Why though I ask myself? Why can’t we just stay put without the desire to know everything or read every new piece of information or theory. Why cant our minds just embrace all that is already within us and ponder over it rather than googling mindless and baseless things. I think I need to start an intervention on living life without the mindless clutter; without feeling the need to post a picture or any other mindless thing for the sake of sharing just due to boredom. I think we are so conditioned to post anything online that we don’t even stop for a moment to ask ourselves the intention behind it. Why are we even posting it? Why do we take it upon ourselves to educate everyone around us? Do we even apply whatever random quote we share into our lives even? Is life only an online version of ourselves and do our relationships need be under online disguises and pretexts? It’s actually sad and miserable. Come to think of it. It’s literally like slavery without knowing how deep this bond goes. I think we are over using or rather abusing technology to the extent of not even knowing our true selves. Who are we even? A two-line description on our social media page? A photo of some quote posted online? A memory in which we are tagged? Who are we? Just an online avatar. Its scary. If we truly and consciously think , it seems so fickle and feeble. We are so hungry over any new social media platform that we don’t even take a day to get on to it. First there was Snapchat and everyone was hooked and I thought maybe this is the ultimate tool now, anything after it will only be pale in comparison. But no, upon came the Instagram story. A rip off of Snapchat agreed but suddenly Snapchat community started posting less on it and more on Insta stories and that too within three days of its launch. Now Whatsapp stories! We are in one big mess, no?  It’s actually hilarious in a sick way! What are we hungry for? Maybe our mind can’t just ‘be’ and we can’t sit still without clouding any empty space in our mind with just about anything. It’s like we are afraid or even uncomfortable with our pauses. It makes us feel ‘unproductive’.

Lately, life has shifted towards the ‘how’ of doing things and thus the dilemma of voicing our thoughts and showcasing our lives through social media has made me question the need/motivation/intention behind my/our actions. Now I can mostly speak for myself but as an audience as well of this social media I can see things from a different perspective. The patterns I see are sometimes disturbing. Mostly, the show-off culture which is a by-product of exaggeration of emotions. It is sad to see friends who slipped away from life because though they post every minor detail on social media yet can’t get back to you in real life. ‘Real life’or whatever is left of it. Sigh. No wonder the prospect of Artificial Intelligence (AI) taking over us seems to be a reality. Then maybe all the pretence would end and our ‘real self’ will emerge? Who knows. Just the fact that I have to communicate through my blog speaks volumes of the involvement of social media. As long as it is not superficial and abused. I can only end by pressing on two things: self-monitoring and knowing your intentions behind whatever you are doing. As a famous line goes ‘may our lives be as cool as our Instagram accounts’ ;) 

About Iffat Gul Shirazi

I like seeing world in the form of poetry. Poetry runs through my soul. When the world hangs over me and the descriptions stale my tongue ; I express my inner world through stringing together words with the connecting dots of my experiences, imaginations and inspirations. Also I am a Masters in Psychology who loves reading and writing. Welcome to my Inner World =) Warmest, I.

Leave a Reply

